Recognising our best

Recognising our best

20 January 2020

At the Annual General Meeting held on 21 November 2019, REINSW President Leanne Pilkington presented awards to deserving members.

Life Fellow


Sandra McGee
Rental Manager at Starr Partners Merrylands

Inducting a member as a Life Fellow is not a decision that’s taken lightly, and this year’s recipient joins a small and exclusive club.

“The Life Fellow award is given in recognition of outstanding contribution to REINSW and the real estate industry,” REINSW President Leanne Pilkington said. “This year’s inductee is the incredibly deserving Sandra McGee.

“Sandra has been an REINSW member since the start of 1994. During this time, she’s continuously served on the Property Management Chapter Committee, including a term as Chair from 2005 to 2007. Her dedication to the industry also came to the fore when she was REINSW’s representative to the Rental Bond Board from 2009 to 2014.”

Leanne explained that Sandra has played a key role over many years in improving the legislative framework for residential tenancies.

“Most recently, Sandra has been a member of the sub-committee formed in 2015 to address the statutory review of the Residential Tenancies Act 2010 – a review that is still ongoing,” she said.

“I’ve spoken to many of her colleagues and one thing that has shone through is how giving Sandra is. Nothing is ever too much trouble and she’s always happy to help others. To a person, everyone I speak to agrees that Sandra is humble and extremely knowledgeable about all things property management. So much so, that she was the recipient of the Woodrow Weight Award in 2010, acknowledging her lifetime of contribution.

“Sandra is unparalleled in her dedication, drive and generosity, and extremely deserving of recognition as a Life Fellow of REINSW.”

John Hill Award


Michelle McLean
Property Manager at Leah Jay

Named after the former REINSW President, John Hill, this award recognises the outstanding contribution of a Chairperson to their Chapter.

“This year’s worthy winner is Michelle McLean, the current Chair of the Property Management Chapter Committee,” REINSW President Leanne Pilkington said. “Michelle attended her first committee meeting in 2005 and, over the last 14 years, has displayed incredible commitment and dedication. She has always played an instrumental role in driving the committee’s ongoing success.”

Becoming Chair in 2017, Michelle has led the committee during the statutory review of the Residential Tenancies Act 2010.

“This has been no small feat and she must be commended for her leadership,” Leanne said. “The committee is a powerhouse of dedicated, professional and passionate people, and Michelle has successfully led them.

“Michelle is always on hand to offer help and advice for her colleagues and has contributed a huge amount of time to REINSW over the last two years.

“A wonderful person, with unwavering commitment and a heart of gold, there’s no worthier recipient of this year’s John Hill Award.”

Want more?